How to make a beach style photo frame (DIY)

25 Giu

shells, sand

Hi everyone!!

This tutorial will show you how to make a frame out of very simple materials: a styrofoam tray, some sand and some shells. I really love collecting shells when I’m at the beach. In fact, I already crafted THESE and I am planning something more. 🙂

Hopefully, this summer I’ll spend some days in Marina di Massa, Tuscany, and I will collect some more shells  (I really dislike buying them in craft stores… most of the fun is managing to spot them on the foreshore! 🙂 )

The beauty of your craft will entirely depend on the cleannes of the sand and on the shape and color of the shells.

Needed materials:

a frame shape, cut out of a styrofoam tray (or anything else)

clean sand (mine is yellowy and not too fine)

clean shells

white glue (lots of)

glue gun

My shells come from Malaga, southern Spain(ahh, good memories) and I used them for gel candles too (here the tutorial).

The steps are quite similar to THIS sand art I made with kids last year.

1) Glue the heaviest shells directly on the frame.

2) Cover the frame entirely with lots of white vinyl glue (not on the shells). Pour lots of sand on it. Press lightly with your fingers. The BE PATIENT and let dry completely. It will take at least 12 hours. Don’t touch! 🙂

3) When the frame is completely dry, glue the smallest shells.

The beach frame is done! You will need to tape the photo on the back, very simply.

tutorial how to

Little summary:

Have fun crafting!!

Cecilia

Linking to:

the gilded hare

Wow Wow Wednesday with This Girls Life

 

 

 

 

 

Una Risposta to “How to make a beach style photo frame (DIY)”

  1. Anne 18 febbraio 2013 a 11:29 #

    Thanks for your time for composing “How to make a beach style photo frame (DIY)
    Creare Scout”. I reallymight definitely be
    coming back for far more browsing and commenting soon.
    I am grateful, Tania

Lascia un commento

Il Riciclo Creativo

Tutto ciò che pensi sia da buttare potrà avere una seconda vita!

If I had a million hours...

...there are - literally - lists and lists of things I'd do. But life is short and time is limited. This is how I choose to spend the hours I've been given - and some funny stories along the way.

sewliciousdecor.wordpress.com/

Projects for the home you can feel good about!

Agnes & Marion

A photo a day, from Lisbon and Budapest (2012-2013)

Homespun Haley.

JOY IN SIMPLE THINGS.

Creating Laura

knitting, crafting, and loving life

Canta il Bosco

Concorso canoro per i cerchi lombardi

·••·¨*:·.Traces of Me .·:*¨·••·

Il coraggio è la magia che tramuta i sogni in realtà.

Simere's Weblog

Tra il dire e il fare...

WordPress.com News

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.